Ration Reality

hyperbolic excellence

February Band of the Month: Six String Sonics

with 53 comments

ЯR   February’s Official Band: Six String Sonics, The   ЯR  

  

One day, guitarist/producer Gil Kuno woke up, looked at a guitar and thought to himself, “This instrument is far too conventional” and set himself to change it.

Ultimately, he arrived at the solution: instead of one player with a six-string guitar, he’d arrange to have six players, each with his/her own single-string guitar, tuned in the same configuration as a standard electric guitar. This results in weird, disjointed tunes that are much less chord-driven and packed with odd, layered melodic runs. Now, most musical revolutionaries would be satisfied with creating music quirky enough to make Kraftwerk say, “Damn, dude!”. However, this wasn’t enough for Gil Kuno. In order to make the project even more bizarre, he’d grab members of some of Japan’s biggest alternative/avant garde bands to play the instruments (which include the 6 1-string guitars, electronic drums and a two-story electric bass which requires 2 people to play). Not weird enough for you yet? Well, it wasn’t for Kuno, either…

The Pièce de Fucked-up is the 12-foot-tall aparatus Kuno designed to seat the players. The 2-level structure resembles an oceanic weather buoy upon which all the players perch (including the drummer and co-bassists). The presentation makes for a unique, if stationary, concert experience.

Gomenna-sai, Primus! You thought your intentionally off-key solos and autistic basslines made you weird. They did not. Sayonara, DeVo! Your flowerpot hats and S&M-inspired stage gimmicks might as well be scarves and line-dances. Six String Sonics, The have shown that real cutting edge music/performance art involves Japanese musicians struggling to keep their footing on a 2 story modified jungle gym while playing 6 one-string guitars and creating music that’s incomprehensibly weird and, yet, groovy and hummable. Domo Arigato, Gil Kuno, Domo Arigato.

Previous Band of the Month Posts:
Chubby Chasers – Bear Force 1 – The Great KatThe BossHoss 
Dead 50sSullivanCraptain Jack & the Shmees

Written by Soylent Ape

February 14, 2008 at 12:28 pm

53 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “We are sure the freedom of expression can be heard in the music.”

    If by freedom, they mean stiff and organized, then yeah, sure. this has sucked the joy out of music for me. Thanks, Soy. Never has anything made me yearn for the faux rock sounds of whatever emo-shithead band is “the thing” right now.

    too bad the balalaika wasn’t the modern music instrument of choice. or the cello. imagine the tower they would have had to build for that.

    SEO Hack

    February 14, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  2. This reminds me of Miles Davis in his earlier days. If he was fucking dickslecksic.
    Interesting, for a little while.

    micky2

    February 14, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  3. I want to go see them! It’s like Cirque du Soleil!
    I wanna see the whole big tower fall. Does that make me a bad person?

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 14, 2008 at 2:15 pm

  4. Only if someone dies.

    micky2

    February 14, 2008 at 4:01 pm

  5. @ SEO: 1) They were kind of a last-minute sub. 2) Sun Ra, Einsturzende Neubautten, The Talking Heads and Miles Davis went through their own minimalist, avant garde periods. They turned out alright. 3) I give them a little credit, because it’s a new idiom still finding its way. It might get better. Still Band of the Month is not necessarily for the best or most talented–it’s usually for the weirdest! I’m hoping my next entry will make up for this one.

    @ Micky: I agree. It sounds wild and interesting at first, but I can only enjoy it in small doses.

    @ Bagel: We all want to see it fall. That’s part of what makes us human.

    Soylent Ape

    February 14, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  6. But micky, what fun is it if noone dies?

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 15, 2008 at 10:02 am

  7. Its called torture Bagel.
    A full blown orchestra crashing down would be fucking classical. Pun intended.

    micky2

    February 15, 2008 at 10:15 am

  8. Torture: It’s where FUN happens.

    keywork.

    February 15, 2008 at 12:15 pm

  9. Who needs waterboarding?

    Soylent Ape

    February 15, 2008 at 10:31 pm

  10. Jersey McJones

    micky2

    February 15, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  11. I agree!!

    Soylent Ape

    February 16, 2008 at 9:25 am

  12. I just demoilished JMJ on the McCain/torture issue, so I thought it was fitting.

    micky2

    February 16, 2008 at 10:42 am

  13. Was it something I said ?
    Is anybody out there ?

    micky2

    February 17, 2008 at 10:39 am

  14. @ Micky: I don’t know what’s going on. Glad to see someone is out there.

    Soylent Ape

    February 17, 2008 at 12:13 pm

  15. Mass hypnosis.
    Theres a subliminal message in this blog.
    Come here too often and you walk down to the scientology office without even knowing what your doing. And you wake up with Cruise in your mouth.
    Or ” crews”

    micky2

    February 17, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  16. Soy: Micky is definitely out there.

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 17, 2008 at 7:59 pm

  17. But thats why we love him. I’ve been out there and I feel his pain.

    micky2

    February 17, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  18. How can you be so wishy washy about your own editorial Soylent? I find these guys to be monumentally important in the history of music, let alone contemporary art – a great deconstruction project that doesn’t fall on its face. They even managed to be very accessible too – the most difficult thing to do in experimental art projects.

    Just because an MTV bred emo lover heckles you, you take back your stance? What kind of writer are you if you can’t stand up to your own views?

    You sound so emotional and excited in your article (I felt just as excited when I first heard them too), but when emo boy gave you a thumbs down, you blurt:
    >1) They were kind of a last-minute sub.

    You don’t need to explain yourself! You are a journalist – your sensibilities are supposed to be much more ahead of the masses, and that’s why you were given the talent of writing. Be confident! THESE GUYS ROCK!

    Sassy

    February 20, 2008 at 5:34 am

  19. Sassy.
    ” Monumentally important in the history of music ?”

    I dont know where you’ve been your whole life but these guys are about as monumentally important as ten people playing ” on top of old smokey” with water glasses.
    The coordination is worth credit but this level of cooperation has been seen done with many other instruments before.
    The problem is that it doesnt really drive any emotion or hit any pleasure centers and make you want to tap your feet or dance. Never mind sit back and listen.
    To me its the equivalent of a Chinese jazz opera being performed on a trapeeze.
    Theres art and then there are just mistakes backed up by platitudes.
    But hey, thats just me speaking.

    micky2

    February 20, 2008 at 9:38 am

  20. These guys were a freakshow. I do appreciate their innovative spirit, but I chose them largely because the Band of the Month, historically, has been a weird combo. They were a last-minute sub. I was trying to work out an interview with the artists set to be this month’s band, but I couldn’t wait on them. Hopefully, they’ll be on here another month.

    @Sassy: You flatter me. I appreciate that you see me as a journalist. I’m glad the Sonics captured your imagination. It is quite a concept and the music is a world away from what you’d hear on the radio…well, commercial radio, anyway.

    You’re right about another thing which I didn’t really address: Six String Sonics, The is much more than its musical output. This is performance art fusing deconstructionalist ideals and modernist sensibilities. I was excited in writing about the band, but I think it was more about how absurd their arrangement was. It is pretty strange, to be sure.

    Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you like the band so much and hope you’ll keep coming back, as music is a topic near and dear to my heart. I hope to live up to your standards on into the future.

    Soylent Ape

    February 20, 2008 at 7:53 pm

  21. @micky2

    In an day where artists/bands are more about ego and showing off their skills, Six String Sonics’s themes are about communion, invention, alternative (in the original sense of the word) spirit, and cooperation, ALL THE WHILE delivering listenable, engaging music.

    Some names come to mind regarding important conceptual artists (I am only naming the majors):
    -Arnold Schoenberg, who introduced dissonance into composition
    -Luigi Russolo, who created noise making machines to aid in the orchestra
    -Charles Ives, who was an innovator of process driven music
    -John Cage, who pursued chance driven music
    -Minimalists David Tudor, Steve Reich, Terry Riley, Philip Glass, La Monte Young
    -The Japanese noise artists, Hanatarash, Hijokaidan, Merzbow, Masonna, etc.

    I find all these artists conceptually important, but I would never listen to them regularly, or ‘for pleasure.’ I am saying “Six String Sonics, The” are monumentally important, because they deliver concept and innovation without compromising on the art of writing palatable music.

    The only other (well known) artist that comes to mind that have been able to do this is Laurie Anderson. But even with her, I can’t see myself listening to entire albums of material at a time.

    So maybe for lack of knowledge of other artists with this balance, I think ‘Six String Sonics, The’ are monumentally important. I think their timing is impeccable as well. In this post 911 age, we have yearned for an icon that conveys ‘cooperation’ and ‘communion’.

    micky2, maybe you can advise of other artists that have this balance.

    @Soylent

    I consider you a journalist with wonderful writing skills. You have the ability to inform with very positive overtones. I find myself enthused and exhilarated by reading your texts. I hope you can eventually do this professionally as we need more writers like you. I wish you luck in your future.

    Sassy

    February 21, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  22. sassy,
    I can throw a wad of shit on the wall and call it art.
    I’m glad you like these guys.

    In my fifty years I’ve grown uplistening to everything from chinese opera to underground rap.
    I appreciate anyones attempt at something new and different. Some of it is hit and miss. In my opinion , this is a miss.

    Like I said in the begginig of this thread , it reminds me of Miles Davis in his early years. Very abstract, very surreal.A lot of people put him to rest in those days.
    Since then ther has been a compromise between Davis and the listeners. He realized the listeners likes his talent but wished it were applied differently.
    Without sacrificing his soul he met the compromise.
    Bang ! You have utopia between listeners and musician.
    Maybe these guys will reach that point with enough supporters as I was one for Miles.
    Unfortunatly I doubt they will be getting much support from me unless they adopt a format that flows a little better.

    “In an day where artists/bands are more about ego and showing off their skills, Six String Sonics’s themes are about communion, invention, alternative (in the original sense of the word) spirit, and cooperation, ALL THE WHILE delivering listenable, engaging music.”

    If I want communion I’ll go to China.
    Showing your skills does not necessarily brand a musician as egotistic. God forbid he just want to share his talent? And enjoys making others happy with his music. Or has a Message to deliver ?
    I hate the category” alternative” its just stooopid.
    And the music certainly was not engaging or listenable but for a minute.

    As a musician I had a hard time relating to what it was they were trying to say or do.

    micky

    February 21, 2008 at 6:10 pm

  23. Soy, I was under the impression that you have done this sort of thing professionally. To some extent. Oh, when you get the chance, swing by and check out the latest addition to the SuperCampaign.

    k-dub.

    February 21, 2008 at 6:11 pm

  24. Sassy: Soy is a rock critic :)
    I’d love to point you to some of his work, but we try to keep our professional writings separate from RationReality.

    More of his RR articles are here:
    http://rationreality.com/author/soylentape/

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 21, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  25. My feeble raccoon memory has scored again!

    k-dub.

    February 21, 2008 at 6:13 pm

  26. also, masturbation is a wonderful hobby for people with too much time on their hands.

    k-dub.

    February 21, 2008 at 6:16 pm

  27. oh, and when masturbation gets boring, we blog.

    k-dub.

    February 21, 2008 at 6:41 pm

  28. Key: We commented at the same time, I think.

    If masturbation gets boring, you aren’t doing it right.

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 21, 2008 at 7:58 pm

  29. Sorry for my ignorance, Soylent. I had no idea you are already a professional – it totally shows!

    Hey micky, thanks for your point of view. To each his own.
    What I look for in music is first of all, is if it is accessible (i.e. I enjoy listening to it.)
    I am also a fan of concept. Although I respect many concept driven artists, I wouldn’t listen to their music, or buy their CDs.

    This is why I liked “Six String Sonics, The.” They were so intriguing, I went to their website and checked out more of their songs. Did you do that?
    http://www.unsound.com/SSS/
    I actually want to buy their CD (unfortunately, it seems they are not marketers – they don’t have any references on where to get the CD.)

    Their sense of invention has taken them so far as to deconstruct a traditional instrument and reinvent guitar composition from the ground up. That, I think deserves some serious props!

    Don’t get me wrong, in terms of inventiveness on just a purely musical realm, there are many artists that I love and adore – Miles Davis is definitely high on my list. I am giving “Six String Sonics, The” credit, because they have a great balance between musical integrity and groundbreaking concept. (Maybe a bit stronger in concept, but I think their music is extremely competent in today’s eclectic music scene.)

    But again, to each his own!

    Sassy

    February 21, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  30. Sassy.
    Check out ” Deep Forest’
    Its more of an organization than it is a group.
    They travel to different countries, take the music indigenous to that culture and embellish it with remix and certain acoustics.
    Some cool shit.
    I’ve heard a lot of conceptual music on my life. But I’ve grown to a ponit where I’m not searching anymore. If I so happen across something, cool. But I dont go out of my way, especially if it just seems more concept than music. So no, I didnt go to their link.
    If I want a good steak I’ll take my butchers word for it instead of shoving my head up a cows ass.
    I have no problem with conceptual perspectives. I’m the proud owner a few Salvador Dalis and and a big fan of M.C. Escher. I love the bizzare and I grew up with Andy Warhol and the whole “anything is art” movement.
    Everything deserves to be looked at , at least once.
    But I guess I’m bigoted to a point where I wouldnt bother to look into six string sonics any further.
    On the level of musical accomplishment alone. They just werent tight enough.

    micky2

    February 21, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  31. When I was in my teens, I discovered what was then considered the “cutting edge” of art and music. As a kid weened on metal and hip-hop, surrounded by top-40 listeners, it seemed to be improbable that I’d ever learn about avant garde composers like Stockhausen and Zappa, acid jazz like Miles Davis, quirky rock like Kraftwerk and The Talking Heads or musical performance artists like Diamanda Galas and Laurie Anderson, but I did. I consider it a blessing.

    I’ve been freelancer and featured contributor for over 3 years now. I enjoy it thoroughly. I do stand by my submissions and will continue to do so. If you like the Six String Sonics, great! If you don’t, thanks for giving them consideration. Personal tastes are personal and I’ll even concede that they’re a difficult listen. Thank you, Sassy for the kind words and encouragement. It means a lot!

    @K-dub: I think that weasels are better suited for politics. Still…whatever works!

    Soylent Ape

    February 22, 2008 at 12:29 am

  32. Aw micky you shouldn’t give up on music, conceptual or not. Music is not a passive sport – there’s barely anything good that is spoon fed to you; you have to be on an active search for it. Especially now that there are so many niches.

    Music has become boring in various phases in my life, but you know, right now I feel another band explosion coming. Music production has been opened up to the masses. Instruments and recording equipment has become so inexpensive that just about anyone with a little will can put down a tune. Of course, there’s a lot more crap out there too, but there’s also a lot of interesting bands too.

    I remember a quote by John Cage about the Zen method of appreciating something. “If you look at something for 4 minutes and can’t find anything interesting about it, look at it for 8. If you still don’t, look at it for 16. etc. etc.”

    Bigoting yourself is a self defense mechanism. You don’t want to spend your time, so you comfort yourself into thinking, “Aw, it’s probably going to suck because…” Laziness is something so easy to succumb to, but we must fight it.

    When you give up on something, that’s when it dies inside of you. Don’t let music die, there’s so much more in store for you.

    Sassy

    February 22, 2008 at 5:13 am

  33. Sassy has a great point: Major record labels and big box retailers are no longer the gatekeepers of music. For about $1,000, almost anyone can set up a studio in a spare bedroom with a closet. Quality standards for guitar and drum manufacturers have allowed for decent instruments even at the lowest price points. Synths, which used to cost tens of thousands of dollars, can now be had for as little as $600.

    To wit, just about anyone with the talent, inclination and a $500 computer can make a demo-quality recording for next-to-nothing and a studio-quailty recording for just a little more. This opens doors to groups/artists who’d never get a record contract because their music doesn’t fit with the current trends. Even in exceptionally poor localities like the slums of Rio De Janeiro or Jakarta have found musicians pooling resources to get decent studio equipment and are now making incredible music with their shared studio.

    Today, music can be found all over the web, which is always open and never puts those ugly electronic sticky things on what it sells. Certainly, there’s a lot of crap through which to wade, but it’s worth it. The Matthew Good Band have a great, energetic rock sound that’s centered around great songwriting. Sullivan take the energy of punk and infuse it with amazing arrangements and beautiful songcraft much like Queen did in their prime.

    Everyone has a pre-set musical “sweet spot” and we all can feel it when someone’s music “hits it”, so keep looking.

    Soylent Ape

    February 22, 2008 at 7:39 am

  34. Soy, believe me, I looked.

    K-Wizzle

    February 22, 2008 at 9:29 am

  35. Oh god ! Sassy, dont get the idea that I,ve given up any kind of music. What I was trying to say was that after 50 years I’ve gotten to the point that I know what I like and dont like.
    Like I said, everthing deserves to be looked at once at least. I by no means have shut my mind down to possibilities. Its just that after a while I’ve become very good at determinig whats gonna fly in my world and whats not.
    You would be surprised if you could see my music collection. I am probably one of the most diverse listeners out there.
    Bigoting myself was probably a poor example just because the word bigot brings a lot of ugliness to ones mind as soon as they hear it.
    But I have no such defense mechanism in play.
    I just dont stop at certain food stands because I know I dont care for it. The only reason I could know that is because I’ve tried it.
    Music should be enjoyable. If there were not different types popping up all the time it would become boring.
    Laziness is not something I do. I have a family to take care of. A house and a business to take care of also . Ontop of all the domestic chores I perform along with my life as it is I dont have the time to sit around and look at all these differnt bands like I did when I was in my 20s and 30s.
    When my day is over or I have a day to myself I like to hear what I know is gonna be good. I dont do the search missions anymore.
    But like I said , if I come across something as with six strings I’ll give it a chance like anything else. I am the last person on the world who would shut down or constrict my preferences.
    It just takes me less time at this point in my life to figure out what I like and dont like.
    I know myself. Identity comes with age.
    Have you ever noticed why little kids and old people get along so well ? ( did I just call myself old?) Kids have no identity and older people are full of it. When they get together they feed off of each other. Old folks get off on the purity and innocence of the child and the kids get off on the solidified complete elder. The child feeds on the confidence and security older folks give off.
    Also , I have other passions in my life as well. I am a professional chef in a lot of areas in culinary arts. Pastries, regional and ethnic cuisines. I spend almost half my day in my kitchen at home cooking my ass off with my music blasting so that the neigbors a block away call the cops (true story).
    No musical prude here baby.

    micky

    February 22, 2008 at 10:14 am

  36. >micky

    I believe you are an open minded guy. I just thought it was a shame that you judged these guys on a few minutes of audio from a documentation video. (That video only spurred an interest in me. I only got excited about the band when I went to their site and heard some of their mp3s.)

    I believe every band is blessed with at least one decent song. I will usually give a band at least a half a dozen songs worth of listens before I give up on them. I actually sought out Deep Forest’s website and listened to about 10 songs, BTW. I kind of remembered them a bit from the ‘ground beat’ movement about a dozen years ago (jeez, has it been that long?) They had a small hit, although I forgot which song it was.

    I know you’re a busy guy, but I feel that music nourishes me to such a great extent, that I make the effort no matter what to dig deep. Music inspires and gives me creative insight over so many different disciplines.

    I thought it was a shame the way you and SEO Hack shot them down publicly after a few minutes a listen, because then you are forced to keep this stance. Even if you did go to the website and happened to like them, it would be embarrassing to change your former views.

    And I hope never to let age get the best of me. I have a job and a family too – we are not too far apart agewise. You just need to know how to keep yourself curious enough.

    The stuff that is marketed will always be available. The modest, unmarketed tracks are the ones that might get obscured and not be available 10 years from now. It’s now or never – this sense of urgency is what I use to keep me on the lookout.

    Sorry if I sound preachy. Just giving you my opinion and methodologies to stay hungry.

    @Soylent

    Thanks for the suggestions! We would like to hear more of your recommendations!

    Here are some of my recent findings:
    http://www.whoismgmt.com/
    (I think these guys are going to be huge! They are kind of like Air (done right), or Ween without the goofiness.)

    Barr “Song is the Single”

    (This isn’t that new)

    Sassy

    February 23, 2008 at 9:15 am

  37. Sassy, I can handle embaressment.
    But let me try to boil this down.
    Country western and mainstream hip hop/rap are probably my least favorite music.
    Its just a matter of personal taste. At my age I’ve had enought time to figure out what I like and dont like. Yes, I have to admit that on occasion I’ve caught myself tapping my feet to some of these styles of music. But not with so much exuberance that I ran out and picked up a copy.
    The first time I heard Deep Forest was in head shop on Waikiki 15 years ago.
    I had a debate over rap at another website and was arguing that rap did not get its roots from hip hop or R&B or blues. But rather that it was a tribal style that went back to Africa actually 200 to 300 years. Deep forest proves this as many other acapella chants and songs from tribes that have been handed down in the centuries are on their albums. Check out a cut called “desert walk” and tell me this guy isnt rapping.
    But hes rapping from his heart, and not to be a part of a style or movement.
    Did you know that country western is rated at the intelligence level of a 12 year old ?
    Its also the largest selling music in our country ! Thats scary ! The countrys musical comprehension is that of a child. Thats what most of us are comfortable with because it doesnt demand too much insight or imagination.
    My point is that I understand your point. By mentioning the things I’just have it should make it more obvious that I have done research on music to the point where I dont have to listen to it for more than a few minutes to know what I’m hearing.
    Rules and constraints have no business in art. But at what point and how far do you carry the innovation to where it doesnt even sound like music anymore ?
    It was interesting to see what they were trying to accomplish, I get it.
    But I’m smart enough and done enough thinking to know what warrants more of my time.
    I am not forced to keep a stance, on anything, ever.
    The first time I heard Primus I raised an eyebrow in contempt. But the music had enough to keep me interested. Now I’m a huge fan. “Hamburger train” has always been one of my favorites. Of course it never went big for two reasons. Its hard on those whos musical taste meets strict conformity. And its ten minutes long.
    Another example of innovation and listenability is ” Stomp” These guys are at where Six strings is trying to go.

    micky

    February 23, 2008 at 10:51 am

  38. @ Sassy: Your presence here has been welcome. Looking at SSS,t as an artistic endeavor, rather than just a musical one, creates a whole new perspective. The dialogue you’ve opened has been meaningful, as well. As for my suggestions: I appreciate your confidence in my tastes, but you may reconsider once you find out I spent most of the morning listening to Queensryche and KISS’s Animalize record.

    @ Mickey: I really hate to write off a whole musical genre, but I certainly will in the case of country music. Every time I hear it, I feel insulted. Many people don’t realize that half of the songs on the Mainstream Country charts are written by the same dozen or so “hitmakers”. Few country artists actually write their own songs, which has made the genre so standardized and formulaic. It’s all just lame lyrical hooks, twangy vocals, glassy production and–if you’re really lucky–a clunky line dance to go along with it. There are some good country artists who are true to the roots of country, but they’re ashamed to be lumped in with the Big & Rich-es and Gretchen Wilsons, so they call themselves “alt-country” or “y’allternative” or something.

    Primus, of course, sucks in the best possible way! Being a drummer, I think Stomp is the best celebration of rhythm I could imagine. Blue Man Group is also pretty cool with their PVC drums and sheet-metal cymbals.

    Soylent Ape

    February 23, 2008 at 11:47 am

  39. Funny, being a drummer myself I love primus. I know I’m not as accomplished as you.
    I stopped when I was 16 and didnt pick up again till a few years ago again.
    Rusty and out of shape to say the least.
    Didnt Blue man inspire Stomp?

    micky

    February 23, 2008 at 12:22 pm

  40. @ Micky: When I say “Primus Sucks”, I mean it as a compliment! That’s what fans chant at Primus concerts. Primus are from another planet, musically. Very challenging…and Bagel and myself have both been fans since junior high.

    I’m not sure who inspired whom. Drummers make great chefs, except in my case. I know at least 3 culinary percussionists, not including “the Naked Chef”.

    Soylent Ape

    February 23, 2008 at 1:11 pm

  41. Fuck !
    Soy,
    I guess my age is showing. I,ve never seen Primus live, maybe thats a decent excuse.
    Dont think they have much of a following in Hawaii.
    I did find it perculiar that you didnt like them.

    I was using a knife long before I started playing. During my apprenticships when I was young the chefs were very secretive about things and not always willing to take you under their wing. It was more of a mandate impossed by the unions. So I got stuck doing prep work and cutting veggies for 2 years.
    Still today I can peel and slice julienne a hundred pound bag of onions blidfolded. True story. So I think its the constant banging on the work bench with a knife that demands rythem. Otherwise you loose appendages. After a while you find yourself cutting veggies to a 4 beat

    micky

    February 23, 2008 at 2:43 pm

  42. PRIMUS SUCKS PRIMUS SUCKS PRIMUS SUCKS PRIMUS SUCKS PRIMUS!

    “primus” means “the first one” in Latin.

    Sassy: I got your email and have fwd’d it to Soy.

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 23, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  43. I remember when something sucked it meant it was bad, unless it was in yer lap.
    Thats just sick.

    micky

    February 23, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  44. So what do you make of “This vacuum really sucks!”

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 23, 2008 at 5:51 pm

  45. I didnt inhale ?

    Angelina Jolie has lips that suck !

    micky

    February 23, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  46. @Soy
    Hey we all have our heavy metal moments! :)

    @micky
    >Didnt Blue man inspire Stomp?

    Your comment made me wikipedia Blue Man. They’ve been around since 1988! I had no idea!

    Hey, I would love to get some pointers to some recommended recipe books from you!

    Sassy

    February 24, 2008 at 3:25 am

  47. Sassy.
    I only use recipe books for ideas.
    I’ve been in culinary arts since I was 12 and it all boils down to basic chemistry 101.
    What mixes, why and how. What goes with what. Food safety and proper gastronomics.
    Once you know all that you apply some imagination and the sky is the limit.
    Its kinda like making music. The variations are ensless. The only time I use recipes is when baking. That is more of an exact science. Just a little too much or too little of something will ruin it all.
    For the at home gourmet I suggest starting with the older books ( 60s to middle 70s) before all this health conscious crap and nouveu cuisine came around. Get a good feel for the origins of honest real food and then you can start applying whatever twists grab your interests.

    micky

    February 24, 2008 at 9:37 am

  48. Is it just my yaoi fetish, or is Gil Kuno way hot?

    The Bagel of Everything

    February 29, 2008 at 10:28 pm

  49. He looks like a rat that just ate a sour gummy bear.

    micky2

    March 1, 2008 at 10:21 am

  50. mmmmmm…that’s what I’m talkin about!
    Eat that gummy, you naughty rat! Eat it real good for momma!

  51. Thats not a gummy, its a venus fly trap

    micky2

    March 1, 2008 at 12:05 pm

  52. […] Band of the Month Posts: Where’s Moo – Six String Sonics – Chubby Chasers – Bear Force 1 The Great Kat – The BossHoss – Dead 50s – Sullivan – Craptain […]

  53. This is for certain a need to examine :) , many thanks for sharing this facts i genuinely enjoy and will attempt out on my unique diligences. thank you a bunch.

    seguro automovel

    March 31, 2011 at 3:16 am


Leave a Reply

