Ration Reality

hyperbolic excellence

Flying High Again

with 21 comments

That’s Twelve Small Steps for a Man, One Giant Embarrassment for NASA!

bad astronaut houston we have a drinking problem

For those who always believed that astronauts had the coolest jobs in the world, here’s more fodder for you:  The online edition of the journal Aviation Week & Space Technology reported incidents where astronauts flew while intoxicated.

To add to the sheer unbelievability of it all, the revelations came in the results of a panel convened to study astronaut health issues in light of the Lisa Nowak incident earlier this year.  (She’s the cuckoo former astronaut that drove 1,000 miles wearing a diaper to allegedly assault and possibly kidnap a rival for her boyfriend’s affections.)  Apparently, on at least 2 occaisions, astronauts have flown after having been deemed by NASA doctors as being intoxicated.  In general, “heavy use of alcohol” (their words, not mine!) was noted within hours of flying in many cases.  I guess that, noting astronauts’ nasty habits of getting dead over the last 40 years, I’d be trying to “take the edge off” somehow, myself.

-soylent ape

See also:

Lolstranauts be in your spaces

Team of the Week

Written by Soylent Ape

July 29, 2007 at 10:29 am

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Houston we have a drinking problem – hilarious! How great is NASA for letting their astronauts party on the shuttles? Respek.

    abarclay12

    July 29, 2007 at 12:31 pm

  2. ABA: Thanks, hun. Say, we really like when our readers post some of our material on their sites, but we should be linked to in the post.
    http://rationreality.com/2007/07/27/nobody-messes-with-the-haunted-house-guy/
    The first time I thought it was a mistake, but the second occurance made me cry a little.
    For instance in this post, we already had the post written (but not posted) before I saw that you had a similar post about it, but we linked to you anyway so our readers could get more info)

    bagel of everything

    July 29, 2007 at 12:35 pm

  3. Bad Astronaut is actually a more serious side project for some members of the bar-punk band Lagwagon, if you’re familiar with them.

    That CD came out nearly 5 years ago, but it was the first thing I thought about when I heard the first news report about this.

    Soylent Ape

    July 29, 2007 at 3:08 pm

  4. Let it be known that Laurie Kendrick still loves rationreality.com!!!

    Like I love my left one!

    I know I strayed a bit Sunday..I had the audacity to read another blog and comment about it being “funny”. I’ll admit it..I’m a filthy whore! I was seduced by baubles and trinkets and blogrolls.

    But I’ve gone out and had my fun–my kicks, if you will. I’ve consorted with a few other blogs and got it all out of my system. I’m back, happy, snappy and douched.

    Whattayasay guise? Take me back? Huh? Gee Wally!

    No deepest indifference here!
    Laurie

    lauriekendrick

    July 29, 2007 at 4:09 pm

  5. I shall confer with my team and determine your penance.

    I’m pretty sure it will involve nudity, just so you know.

    (btw: I totally called you out in comments on 2 seperate posts at deviant)

    bagel of everything

    July 29, 2007 at 4:15 pm

  6. Hey Bages..must your menses or something, cause I read the one comment on Deviant. Called me out??? WTF??? About raping Stepher behind the barn???

    Explain that one.

    lauriekendrick

    July 29, 2007 at 4:43 pm

  7. Hey, which god was Menses again?

    Richard Morgan

    July 29, 2007 at 5:12 pm

  8. Not raping you! Killing you! or raping Deviant. :)

    But that isnt the one I was talking about…

    bagel of everything

    July 29, 2007 at 5:35 pm

  9. Menses was the Greek god of staying at your brother’s house for, like, 4 or 5 days.

    Soylent Ape

    July 29, 2007 at 6:57 pm

  10. had they taken two of these, 1 of these, and a couple of these little peach colored ones with their booze, they wouldn’t of needed a space shuttle

    criminyjicket

    July 29, 2007 at 7:02 pm

  11. What – don’t I at least deserve to be raped inside the barn? What if it’s raining?

    stepher

    July 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

  12. If you were going to be strapped to a giant rocket going to a place where you had to stick a tube on yourself to pee and deal with Russians all the time in a half-working space station, you’d probably want to be drunk, too.

    Cody

    July 29, 2007 at 11:07 pm

  13. It works for the Russians, doesn’t it?

    Soylent Ape

    July 29, 2007 at 11:20 pm

  14. Cody, I’m shocked! It’s a well-known fact that Russian equipment is far more reliable than American-made hardware.

    See? Here’s the proof!

    jessecuster

    July 30, 2007 at 12:09 am

  15. Stephr: Again, the proposed raep victim was neither of you ladies, but if you want, I’ll totally raep you first. In the barn, out of the barn, it doesnt matter.

    bagel of everything

    July 30, 2007 at 12:41 pm

  16. Bagel:

    I’ll take you up on that offer. I’d prefer to be raeped first if that suits everyone else. I generally prefer to be raeped first unless it’s just impossible…

    stepher

    July 30, 2007 at 5:01 pm

  17. Then you’ll help me raep deviant, right?

    I so want that hot geeky little ethnic ass.

    The Bagel of Everything

    July 30, 2007 at 5:08 pm

  18. Threadjack much?

    Soylent Ape

    July 30, 2007 at 7:09 pm

  19. Soy: We’re astronauts. It’s code. Raep is a top secret mission. Shhhh

    bagel of everything

    July 30, 2007 at 8:51 pm

  20. Oh, gotcha.

    Soylent Ape

    July 31, 2007 at 6:41 pm

  21. […] Flying High Again […]


Leave a Reply

